Rutland Water Project - 3
Researching Rutland Registered Charity No 700273
Rutland Local History & Record Society Audio - In the crypt Audio - In the crypt
Until the early 20th century most of the land in the valleys was owned by a few aristocratic families, particularly the Finch family, the Earls of Winchilsea and Nottingham, who lived at Burley on the Hill and the Heathcote family, the Earls of Ancaster, who lived at Normanton Hall. Both estates were broken up and sold, but farming continued to be the main occupation of the area. Normanton Hall, located right on the southern edge of what was to become Rutland Water, failed to reach its reserve at the auction in 1924 and it was eventually demolished. The adjacent stables survived and after being a prisoner of war camp in WW2, and later farmer’s barns, they were converted to a hotel thanks to their unique location on the south shore of Rutland Water.
Normanton Hall
Normanton Hall Stables 1974